Children’s progress in Nursery and Reception is evaluated on their learning outcomes in relation to 7 Early Learning Goals. The reformed Early Learning Goals are now statutory for all early years settings. The 7 prime Early Learning Goals are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The ELGs are interconnected, and children display attainment across multiple different ELGs when engaging in a task or an activity. They should be taken to form a complete picture, rather than analysed separately, and children’s understanding should be evaluated holistically.

Good Level of Development refers to a summative assessment judgement which is made for each child at the end of the Reception year. It is a measure of attainment, not progress. Achieving a good level of development will help your child to make a good start in Year 1. A ‘good level of development’ or GLD is defined as reaching the expected level in the prime areas of learning (along with specific aspects of mathematics and literacy).

An ‘emerging’ outcome

Some children may have an outcome of ‘emerging’ for some, or all, of the ELGs. This may be because they were born later in the academic year, develop a little later than their peers, have missed considerable class time, or because they have a disability (SEND) or Special Educational Need. Regardless, their practitioner will have an accurate insight through the knowledge of the child that has been built through the academic year. This absolutely does not mean that a child has ‘failed’, but more just provides useful information that can inform the professional dialogue between the Early Years Team. This promotes a smooth transition, and informs staff of any extra support that can be provided, so every child is nurtured and catered for.

Translate »